Pre- Internship Update..

Hi Everyone.

I am currently in the midst of my 3 week pre-internship block. So far, so good. I am really enjoying my experience. I am happy to say that yes I do like teaching. Coming into my pre internship I was a bit anxious as many people would say to me “well it will either make ya, or break ya.” I was worried that once I actually got into a classroom and had the chance to teach that I would have second thoughts about my career choice. I look forward to each new day of teaching and am really enjoying my planning process. I have been able to do some interdisciplinary planning already and I am loving it. I want my students to be able to make connections to different areas of study and also to their lives. I am very excited for my next week of teaching as I have chosen to teach about a controversial topic in the curriculum. I am going to focus on tragic death and suicide from the grade 9 curriculum and tie it into the grade 9 social curriculum.  I am so excited about my interdisciplinary teaching that I haven’t really had time to worry about teaching this topic.

If anyone has any advice or resources they would like to share please feel free.

I hope to keep you all updated throughout the rest of my 3 week block.

-Madison

3 thoughts on “Pre- Internship Update..

  1. Hey Madison I just saw my First-Nations-post shout out and thanks!
    You’ve got a lot of good posts in here and you’re obviously very capable, I’d say just be yourself up there and try as much stuff as you can to figure out why some stuff will/won’t work, and how some new ideas COULD work.
    Seek out advice from the staff, watch the little things in the classroom, enjoy it – it’s all about getting ready for internship

  2. Preintership is meant to really ground you back into the reasons you chose to be a teacher. It should give you experience, and allow you to reflect on school from a different perspective – one that should be very different than when you left K12 schooling. You’ll enjoy it, I am sure.

    Have fun, learn a lot, and best of luck over the next 2+ weeks.

Leave a Reply

